Why I got a camera

skpfoto!

This July I got the Panasonic Lumix GX1 with the Panasonic 20mm f/1.7 lens as a birthday gift to myself.

The main purpose: to take photographs of my friends and I when we’re out.

The background story: I was going through my photo album and noticed that in the early 2000s, I had a ton of photos of my friends and I but after I graduated college, there just weren’t that many photos. I looked back and realized why: the point&shoot boom and the rise of the camera phone. Back when point&shoots were in, many of my friends were carrying around small cameras, taking photos of us. I would collect these photos the next morning from my friends and organize them on my computer. Fast forward a few years and nobody carries around a camera anymore because cellphone cameras became available. As crappy point&shoot cameras were, they were still better than cellphone cameras (especially in lowlight). In the end, only very few barely usable photos remain the next day. Since I knew the quality of these photos were horrible, I no longer gathered these photos the next day (unless it was a moment that needed to be remembered).

The Conclusion: I remember my college days vividly, so many photos and thus so many memories but I don’t remember that many nights since ~2007 when camera phones became widespread. I needed to take photos of these nights so I could remember, reminisce.

2012-07-17 14.54.46

Comment on my work!

