Scenes of Portland

Portland is a beautiful city. I think it’s a rare major city that really feels so well integrated and absorbed into the nature surrounding it. While it can be difficult to even see traces of the natural landscape or nature in most major cities, Portland feels like the city was built into the natural landscape. Unsurprisingly, it has been named one of the top greenest cities in the world.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s a hill covered with buildings are trees to the west of the city, a great river that runs through the middle of it, and great mountains in the distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yet Portland is still a major city, the 28th most populated city in the United States. It has a downtown area that’s beautiful during the day

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The funny thing about Portland is that because it’s so north, the sun sets much later during the summer. I think the sun was setting at 9PM while I was there, but it would still remain somewhat bright until maybe 9:30PM. The great part about this is that Golden Hour is much longer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Yes those are both shots of Broadway St, which I felt had the best views of the city)

Streets in the downtown area were full of trees, small and large. And so much of the city is just a really beautiful place to walk around and enjoy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In Portland, I also noticed that a lot of development was happening in terms of residential complexes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The fact that there’s a large river crossing through the city means that there are several great vantage points to view downtown from across the river.

While I didn’t have the opportunity or time to really scout the length of the river for nice places to part and take photos, I did get to drive along the river and stop to take a few photos.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s some fancy architecture in Portland too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A couple restaurants that I’ve had the opportunity to visit and would love to recommend are:

Andina Restaurant for some great Peruvian food (GET THE STUFFED PEPPERS!!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And also Pok Pok for great Thai food on the east side of the river.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve shared my photos of Portland’s bridges as well as the terrific view from Portland’s OHSU Aerial Tram.

Overall, Portland was a great city. I wish I had more time to enjoy the riverside views of the city and I regret not being able to enjoy the rose gardens (Portland is also known as the City of Roses). Oh and did I mention there’s no sales tax?

It’s a great city you have to visit if you’re in the Pacific Northwest. Similar yet very different from Seattle.

I hope you enjoyed my photos, thank you.

12 thoughts on “Scenes of Portland

  1. What could be better than a longer sunset? !!! I love the photos, especially the tree lined street!

    • Wow, I’m honored to know that my post has been able to motivate somebody to visit Portland! It was a beautiful city and I know you won’t regret visiting it.

Comment on my work!

