The Milky Way from Borrego Springs, CA (and a Perseids meteor)

The Milky Way from Borrego Springs, CA (and a Perseids meteor)

Went star shooting the other night during the climax of the Perseids meteor shower this year. I drove 120miles inland to Borrego Springs, CA. It’s a desert canyon way out in the middle of nowhere. Apparently it’s one of the few cities where night light pollution is controlled, making it one of the best cities in the US for astrophotography.

I’m going to run my 500 photos through some stacking software to see what I can get, but in the meantime, here’s a preview of one of the better shots.

You can see the Milky Way rising through the middle of the hills and a faint trace of a Perseids meteor on the right of the screen.

This photo was taken with a Olympus 12mm f/2.0 lens by the way. I borrowed it from a co-worker and loved it – I will be ordering one for myself this week! Photo settings f/2.0 15sec ISO 1600.

Thank you!

10 thoughts on “The Milky Way from Borrego Springs, CA (and a Perseids meteor)

  1. Pingback: Startrails (First Attempt) | skpfoto

  2. Pingback: My Car & the Milky Way | skpfoto

    • I’m having a lot of trouble with that – the stacker keeps crashing my computer! In addition to that, the memory upgrade I got seems to be defective too. It looks like it’ll be a couple weeks… 😦

Comment on my work!

