Startrails (First Attempt)

As you can see from my previous post, I was out in Borrego Springs over the weekend to shoot the meteor shower.

While I was out there, I had my camera set on a tripod and set to continuous shooting mode so I could do some stacking later when I got home.

Because I didn’t have a remote shutter that I could use to lock the shutter, I ended up using a rubber band and small rock to fix the shutter.

1093900_10101933082054921_1939612004_o

It was basic and rudimentary, but it worked!

Came home to 40+ shots with the 12mm f/2.0 lens and 360+ shots with the Samyang fisheye.

Before any post-processing of the photos, I ran all the OOC JPEGs through Starstax.

StarStaX_P8110259-P8110299_gap_filling2

Shot with the Olympus 12mm f/2.0 (this lens is actually on sale right now!), f/2 15sec ISO 1600. Stack of 40+ shots with 2 dark shots. The wider aperture allows for more visible meteor/satellite trails.

StarStaX_P8120581-P8120692_gap_filling

Shot with the Samyang 7.5mm Fisheye, f/3.5 20sec ISO 3200.

I’ll be running the JPGs through some post-processing to see if I can improve the startrails and will repost if I can get some better output files. I did realize, afterwards, that I was shooting south, whereas I should’ve been shooting facing North if I wanted better views of the meteor shower as well as a center point for the star trails. I learned a lot through this experience and still am as I tear my hair out with the stacking software. I also welcome and would really appreciate any advice and insight into astrophotography/stacking!

Look forward to my stacked shots soon!

Thank you.

5 thoughts on “Startrails (First Attempt)

  1. Pingback: My Car & the Milky Way | skpfoto

Comment on my work!

